Dorchester Film Society
Showing The Best Of World Cinema Since 1958

About The Society

Every season we aim to show a variety of films that would not normally be screened in local commercial cinemas. The majority of these films are foreign-language with subtitles.

We are members of Cinema For All and the Cinema For All South West group.

Our first season was 1958/59. This is now our 63rd season and also our first online streamed season. We usually like to start the season with a glass of wine and also welcome you to a Christmas social. Unfortunately we are unable to do that this year but very much hope we will be able to continue the socials next year.

Our Committee

  • Ms Aleathea Lillitos - Committee member
  • Ms Mandy Sylvester - Projectionist
  • Mr Allan Dymock - Joint Hon.Secretary
  • Ms Jo Wells - Committee member
  • Mr Stuart Riddle - Committee member
  • Mrs Paula Howarth - Treasurer
  • Ms Rachel Mainland - Membership Secretary
  • Mrs Jill Kohn - Committee member
  • Ms Janet Hamling - Joint Hon. Secretary (Meetings & Minutes)
  • Ms Perwina Whitmore - Chair
  • Mr John Herbert - Committee member